ICC announces Australia to host World T20 in 2020

Australia to host the final match of both the men's and women's World Twenty20 cricket in 2020, matches takes place at its biggest stadium Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG).

The women's World T20 will run from February 21 to March 8 while the men's tournament will be held from October 18 to November 15 in Australia.

The eight host cities will be Adelaide, Brisbane, Canberra, Geelong, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney. "This will give the best female and male cricketers respective opportunities to capture the attention of the country and the world.

As per ICC, the worlds 10 best womens teams and 16 best mens teams will come to Australia to battle it out for the ultimate prize in T20 cricket.

The women's semi-finals will be hosted on consecutive days at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG), while the men's semi-finals will take place at the SCG and Adelaide Oval.

The women's final will take place on International Women's Day 2020, on March 8, with the aim of creating a world-record attendance for a women's sporting match.

The ICC Chief Executive David Richardson said: "I would like to thank Cricket Australia and their partners in Government at all levels for their commitment to the ICC World T20 in 2020.”

He added, “The ambition they have shown firstly in delivering stand-alone men's and women's events and then in the venue selection that will, I hope set a record for the biggest ever attendance at a women's sporting event, is exciting for the sport."

The Chairman of Cricket Australia and the ICC World T20 2020 Local Organising Committee, David Peever said, "Australia has a proven track record of delivering world-class events in world-class stadiums and we know we can rely on the fans to provide great support for all of the competing teams.  Australia is extremely privileged to be hosting the ICC World T20 tournaments in 2020.”

"On behalf of Cricket Australia and the Local Organising Committee, I would like to sincerely thank Government at both Federal and State and Territory level, host cities, venues and State and Territory Cricket Associations for their exceptional support, which is so critical for delivering the best possible events in 2020."